A writer’s notebook for Scrivener

A while ago, I found this writer’s notebook for Scrivener. I prefer to keep my story ideas in separate files, so I haven’t used it yet, but it looks pretty bloody awesome. I particularly like the Writing Helps & Tips section at the top, which includes such goodies as Dan Wells 7-point plot system, “11 tips to increase your productivity” and “How to make stories Rock”.

Unfortunately, the website where I originally found the file is no longer available, but don’t fear, I’ve uploaded it here so that you too can share in the awesomeness.

find the download here -  A writer’s notebook for Scrivener.

Five Reasons Why I Love Scrivener

About a year ago, I bought a program called Scrivener for my Macbook, in hopes that it would help me in the process of writing my novel. Scrivener is a huge program with tons of features I haven’t even played with or found yet. But even though I haven’t had time to watch hours of video tutorials or read books on it (yes, there are books written on it), I’ve benefited greatly from using this software. It contains templates for writing novels, short stories, poetry, different types of non-fiction essays and research papers, scriptwriting and more. For my writer friends (and who doesn’t fall into at least one of those categories?) here are a few reasons why I love using Scrivener.

via Five Reasons Why I Love Scrivener | Listless Muse.

Why I Write Longhand

An interesting perspective on creativity that mentions Scrivener only incidentally

As a writer and game designer, I’ve spent a good chunk of the past 30 years trying to do various types of creative work while sitting, standing, or slouching at a computer keyboard (and, more recently, a touchscreen). The power of those devices has grown exponentially, enabling me with a tap or a keystroke to accomplish marvels that would have been inconceivable just a few years ago. (“Upload PDF to Dropbox”; “Open Scrivener file.”)

And yet I’ve been increasingly bemused to realize that by real-world measures of productivity — words written, problems solved, good ideas crystallized — my output has not only not multiplied along with the power of my tools, it hasn’t increased one bit.

more here -  Why I Write Longhand | Jordan Mechner.